Starting to Make music

A place to discuss music.
Niedkern Knight

Starting to Make music

Post by Niedkern Knight » Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:56 am

I want to start writing music, unfortunately I never have had the attention span before to learn an instrument, so my music creating skills are a little lacking. Anyone have any suggestions of ways learn about how to structure music, and how to write and produce as well?

I'm starting to learn to play the piano, It's been said that it is a good way to learn how music works. Any other suggestions would be much appreciated I'm a total noob when it comes to writing music.

Once I get going on this route I would also be interested in trading music back and forth with other musicians for inspirational purposes, and critiques.

Thanks,
:D you guys rock
I have hewn many briars in my garden, but many are still close.
The noxious weeds quiver in the fiber of their being as I draw near
I am a root striker, and I am HERE!

unsigned_char72

Re: Starting to Make music

Post by unsigned_char72 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:56 pm

Playing an instrument is advisable but not necessary. Even reading music is not necessary. Just get a good grasp on the fundamental theory (notes, scales, chords, circle of fifth and things like that) and start writing some simple music with a software of your choice.

More than 15 years ago, Swim felt compelled to write music despite not being able to play any instrument whatsoever. It was the age of computer tracked music so he learned to use a program called "FastTracker" (no longer around) and eventually managed to write some very good tracks. What helped Swim most (apart from knowing the theory basics) was the ability to open other people's music in the program and actually see how it was done. And then emulating it.

nepalnt21

Post by nepalnt21 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:42 pm

you can learn wonders just plucking a guitar string with your finger barely touching key positions along it.